Inactivating a User

Last Updated on September 10, 2026

You can inactivate Portal users that are currently active. When a user is inactivated, the user is unable to access the Portal. To reactivate a user, see Activating a User.
Note: When a user is inactivated, the user does not receive an email.

User access can also be limited by removing permissions for one or multiple users (See Editing a Single User’s Permissions). This is useful when an existing user moves schools within a district and retains the same email address.

  1. To inactivate a user, click User Management. The User Administration page displays.
  2. When the User Administration page displays, from the Edit User tab use the various drop-down menus and fields to enter search criteria to locate the user and click Find User.

  3. In the Action column, click the Inactivate icon for the user you want to inactivate.
  4. When the Inactivate User dialog box displays, click Inactivate to make the user inactive or Cancel to cancel the process.